Meltdowns and Hugs.

in_the_end_only_kindness_matters-500x333 (2)

I was mesmerized by a small child and her mom. It wasn’t a pretty scene but it was raw and real.

In an envious way, I wanted to join the little girl flailing on the store floor, crying and furiously pounding the cement. I didn’t know the reasons for her meltdown. I didn’t need to.

She had such freedom to let it all go.

A few steps away, her mom barked colorful expressions to silence her. It was as if the mom wanted to put a lid on the cacophony of life.

Exhausted looking, the mom was on the ledge of her own anger.

I still can’t believe I spoke up and stood in-between the two.

“Isn’t it incredible how they can do that and we can’t?

The mom, gave me a perplexed look, mixed with a slight sense of relief, and surprisingly said,

“Maybe that is what we need.”

The connection between us flickered and in a challenging voice she added,

“What do I do with her now?”

“Hug her. The words will come later.”

The mom semi-nodded, eye contact was brief but it filled the gap of understanding.

I walked away only to watch from a safe distance, the sweet, powerhouse child had finally dissolved into her mom’s arms.

I scrunched my to-do list back into my pocket. I needed to get to my car and let my tears have a meltdown too.

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Captured Moments and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meltdowns and Hugs.

  1. Chava Gal-Or says:

    I simply love this. . . .such a holy moment!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. zen city says:

    beautiful!
    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

