I wish I knew.

John St John,  Flickr

John St John, Flickr

I tried to tell you,
all that was on my mind.

I tried to show you
how much I cared.

I didn’t really want
that extra blanket
but I knew you did.

I painted the walls vanilla
because I knew
you didn’t like chocolate.

I stretched my wings
and crossed many oceans
just to be like you.

It didn’t work.

I’m not sorry
for trying
but I wonder,

If I hadn’t changed
my name
so many times,
maybe now
I’d know
who I am.

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Let My Voice Be Heard, Poem and Prose and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I wish I knew.

  1. How we change ourselves to try and please, till at times we don’t know who we are ourselves. 💜

    Like

Leave a Reply

