The velocity of time slowed. {poetry}

C. Riker

C. Riker

I stood next to the window
and leaned against space
time drifting above the trees
cresting with the waves of sunlight.

The salmon pink petals of poppies
were my wings.

A clematis vine tethered me
securely from touching the sun’s heat.
Stars flew from the tips of my fingers
and my feet became coiled fronds.

I drank ellipses of energy
from freshly flowing ethereal springs.

And in that fractional space
of orbital bliss,
the velocity of time slowed
for my edges of awareness
heeded the acute need
for the deepest healing of silence.

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Captured Moments, Poem and Prose and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The velocity of time slowed. {poetry}

  1. D.B. Moone says:

    Every line of this piece of “art” captured me, but there is something very familar and comforting in “…velocity of time slowed
    for my edges of awareness
    heeded the acute need
    for the deepest healing of silence.”

    Bravo, Carolyn, bravo! Thank you for letting us in to experience your beautiful word speak.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

