Eclipse of summer passing.

Street Artist: Dain

Street Artist: Dain

It’s in the air.

Morning and night
the unfolding of autumn
wraps a nudge,
taps my shoulder,
whispers through
the bed linens.

I pull warmth closer.
I sense the scent of change.
The austere eclipse of summer passing.

The pages I thought I’d write.
The lists I willed to accomplish.

I didn’t.

And still in the stillness
I walked with shadows and planted seeds.

I watered my soul with the clouds.
I tasted a mountain
and let my soul wash through a prism.

I have grown.

My lists have too;
they always will.

My fingers play on the keys
of a pulse and a rhythm of eccentricity.

I have lost and gained
and cherished the simplicity
of seeing the nesting of nature.

I mined for golden orbs
and dug deeper into fresh springs
of solitude.

I nurtured more readily
the art of,
NO!
to the request of

DO MORE;

I listened
when my spirit dissolved
into particles
and walked along sentient riverbeds.

I found sand and seaweed
dusting my eyelashes,
for my night dreams exposed
a world I seek to discover.

Maybe, just maybe,
I accomplished more
by letting go.

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Poem and Prose and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

