Shelter the shadows. {poetry}

Artist: Lindsay Adler

Artist: Lindsay Adler

I’ll paint the sky
with symbols
and let the sea mitigate
the memories.

I’ll let the sun
shelter the shadows
of dark blue.

I’ll sprint
until the trees
cease to talk
and find silence
in the landscape
of forbidden.

Each corner
turns a wrinkled page
of fibers frayed
a delicate creature’s wing;
it expands and contracts
an invisible filament of force.

It’s an edge of unease
to cross a ghost-like bridge
it’s real and an illusion
my balance is unsure.

Let me hold
the strength of knowing
and ease back
to a patch of
just here.

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Poem and Prose and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shelter the shadows. {poetry}

  1. dara40 says:

    I really love your work Carolyn. I don’t say that often about contemporary poets, but I really love your words.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

