I let you go, to see the real me. {poetry}

Artist: Lesya Nedzelskaya

Artist: Lesya Nedzelskaya

I found you in my dreams.
We seemed a lot alike.
Ethereal and scared.
Real and brave.

We walked along a bridge of wild.
Trees were a canopy –bubble like.
A safe cocoon.
I thought you were the one.

I believed in your words
but I knew, something was so wrong.
Your actions spoke of deceit.
You gave and demanded more.

My path became saline;
I drowned at being ignored.
Lessons are bitter at first.
Fairytales are castles built on nightmares.

Naivety is ageless.
Status quo is a farce.
The wishing and hoping
for acceptance ate a hole in my heart.

I squeezed soft into sharp.
Until, I started to awake and believe.
I won’t conform.
There’s a rebel in me.

Platitudes won’t stick.
I give to be me.
I am the wildness.
Trees are my friend.

My path is as river
and leads to the sea.
Saline nightmares free me
and safely, I walk alone.

We see symbols
of truth when we close our eyes.
I found you in my dream:
the me, the you and I.
I let you go, to see the real me.

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Let My Voice Be Heard, Poem and Prose and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I let you go, to see the real me. {poetry}

  1. Pingback: I let you go, to see the real me. {poetry} | DROWNING IN EXPECTATIONS

Leave a Reply

