Let the music of my soul speak of democracy.

Street Artist: Scampi

Street Artist: Scampi

“In the depth of my soul there is a wordless song.” ~ Kahlil Gibran

I’m not sure where my life is heading or what my roles will be but I do know it’s changing rapidly. My head hurts, so I have to close my eyes more and more. I can see wisps of focus, if only for a flicker. My heart aches when I read and hear what is happening in our nation. My eyes are opening from the inside and it is painful what I see. Discrimination is palatable. Racism is all too alive. I dream in black and white and shade in the depth with steel gray wool.

White supremacy rules a malicious dictatorship. Color blindness is in vogue. Women’s rights for medical attention is being disrobed. Many of those vying for presidency are spewing more lies, shredding ethics, vomiting corruption and tainting our perceptions. If it doesn’t feel right, don’t believe them. Ask. Read. Question.

Meanwhile we are getting distracted and arguing about a Black Dot Campaign that has reached over 1.5 million people. Sure there’s glitches however I feel more people are talking about domestic violence and this could lead to more education. It’s not perfect. But what is?

People want to be seen and heard and believed in. They want to be lifted up and not kicked, walked on, arrested for the color of their skin.

Imagine being 14 and arrested for creative intelligence? Holy shit!! Ahmed is the spokesperson, the representative for kids not seen but reduced to a number in a classroom of hypocrisy. A minority where a child’s name sounds ‘funny’ and their skin is a different shade other than white. “They” have an ‘odd’ religion because don’t we only have ‘one’ god? Guess what? The sound barrier of silence just had another ripple; it’s called democracy and it’s on a much deeper and meaningful layer.

I have these flickers of insights and something says, “write.” And so I will. It’s a flicker of hope when despair, a dark hole fills with bleakness. I have to pull myself to the keyboard and let the music of my soul speak.

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Let My Voice Be Heard and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let the music of my soul speak of democracy.

  1. Dara Reidyr says:

    Brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

