My being is draped on the curvature of the moon.

Artist: Afarin Sajedi

Artist: Afarin Sajedi

With the rise of the full moon and her pending eclipse, I’m circling in a thick emotional soup. Sounds are distorted. Regular seems inordinately weary. I crave the solace of nothingness. I sleep in tiny patches and my dreams are distorted and distant.

My being is draped on the curvature of the moon.

I am the silhouette of a leaf or the hum of dryer’s drone. I have no feet for they are kindly blending with the knotty edges of the floorboards. Turning a page, I get stuck midway, for nap-a-tude is the elixir poured. Meals seem to create in a patchwork quilt of comfort. The kids and I float. I found the creamer in the pantry and my mug in the frig next to a sticky note: remember, you are loved.

For now, I’ll walk hand-in-hand with the crimson fruits of autumn and wear a shawl of gossamer clouds. I’ll be with the spirit of quiet and listen to her safe said softness.

Silence is never fully silent; it paints a pointillistic pattern of glyphs and answers will soon surface.

Art source

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Captured Moments, Poem and Prose and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

