“Shoulds” and Wishes.

Artist: Aimee Stewart

Artist: Aimee Stewart

I ‘should’ be asleep under a crescent moon and a starlit night. I ‘should’ be wandering under closed eyes in another space and time.

Sometimes I can’t. I don’t fight it as much.

I let the thoughts of today and yesterday and days of long ago spill on the keyboard. I hold the walls of my fortress and carve a hole in the roof, just to taste the night air and breathe.

I wrap time around my shoulders and listen to the gap in silence knowing some things aren’t meant to be. The shifting thoughts will settle into the edges of already tomorrow.

And for now, I will let the ‘shoulds’ become wishes of shooting stars.

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Captured Moments, Poem and Prose and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Shoulds” and Wishes.

  1. yvonnebs says:

    Love it ! Thank you Carolyn ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Grandtrines says:

    Reblogged this on Lost Dudeist Astrology.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

