Sometimes we need a break from it all.

Source: Pinterest Artist: Unknown

Source: Pinterest
Artist: Unknown

We might need a break every now and then from the onslaught of living.

We hold space for each other for a variety of reasons.

We feel the joy of celebrations and the mixed batch of criticisms and miscommunications. We see and hear and feel and touch into a depth of exquisite pleasures and caustic hurts. We are pulled in a zillion and one directions all crying for our attention.

I start to notice how my mind and heart can no longer hold the fullness of it all. Something in me and around me quivers and I physically begin to ache; my emotions ripple into a dizzy fractal geometric state.

And as I listen, I’m slowly learning, it’s okay to step away from this surface tension.

Sometimes we need to curl into dormancy of here but not really and let the scaffolding around our heart release into the soft sound of pillows.

It’s a safe freefall of letting go.

I’ll light candles and find comfort in warm foods. I’ll let my mind puddle and I’ll hold the blues and the setting sun against my chest and weave prayers in the simplicity of rest.

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Captured Moments and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

