Terribly real in a false world.

Artist: Loui Jover

Artist: Loui Jover

“You,” he said, “are a terribly real thing in a terribly false world, and that, I believe, is why you are in so much [bittersweet] pain.” ~ Emilie Autumn

We create and use our gifts to follow our heart’s passion and joy. May we shed light on injustice and highlight the poetic nature of a faded leaf.

My eyes hear and my ears see with every flicker of sunlight through a grayish cloudy day. I am art in word, sculpture in wind and pottery created in a sunrise of the sea. The Sahara Desert fills my toes and the Gulf Stream filters through my eyelashes.

I’m not ‘normal’ and I don’t want to be.

I listen to the wind and find the song of the Milky Way; I sanction the elixir of life and death an inverse spin of transparency. I will find the quiet in decay and hope in the pause and love in the raised branches of trees.

I sigh and let go into the spaciousness of an ever evolving humanity. I rest in a cushion of safety knowing there’s so much more to learn; it’s an alchemy of what we were, transformed into what we are now.

It is the gift of being.

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Let My Voice Be Heard, Poem and Prose and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Terribly real in a false world.

  1. “May we shed light on injustice and highlight the poetic nature of a faded leaf.” I love this line Carolyn. We must all shine our light, wherever, whenever we can. Poetry surrounds us. Thank you for your not “normal”. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dara Reidyr says:

    This is such truth. May we never be”normal” and always speak the truth. Wonderfully written, as is all your work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

