Our last poem

20111212223337_TM83n

Artist: dui tang

I remember the last poem
written while sipping champagne
the sun, dissolving over sea

I lit a candle
it’s what I still do
when spirits of life and death call me

I gifted those words
hand over heart
tumbling from a cadence of trust

in the quiet, long after dusk
the sun found the moon
and my words, strung upon air

virgin lyrics,
spilling from heart to mouth
raw, real and tender

shy of line three
you walked away laughing
leaving my soul cold and bare.

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Poem and Prose and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

