Black Lives Matter.

David Walker

Artwork by: David Walker

I was inspired to write this after I wrote about Black Lives Matter and someone followed with all lives matter….part of this was my response:

I wish all lives did matter; however, it’s not true. People of Color are not treated the same or fairly as white people. Black people are discriminated, marginalized, harassed, attacked, killed and denied privileges every single day — for centuries. Hell, I’d be angry too living under such violent oppression.

That’s why I’m listening and learning. I also want to include my sisters and brothers of the LGBTQIA communities. And while I am at it, Christianity isn’t the only religion. There’s more than one ‘god’ and btw, he/she/it isn’t only white. If all lives matter, and they should, then let’s include — all.

By nature I’m an introvert however my activist heart is an extrovert. I have to live with both to find peace within. I am growing older and hopefully a bit wiser. Age is a compliment to translate what I see and hear. I will use my words as a bridge to share & learn. In the profound words of James A. Baldwin: “You know, it’s not the world that was my oppressor, because what the world does to you, if the world does it to you long enough and effectively enough, you begin to do to yourself.”

I’m stepping out of the box of conformity. It begins with me and you. My skin is white and it runs the blackest shade of midnight and the terracotta sands of a yellow sunrise. We are one. No one is better.

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Let My Voice Be Heard and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

