Nature and trees.

b&w trees 2015

Photo: C. Riker

“In nature, nothing is perfect and everything is perfect. Trees can be contorted, bent in weird ways, and they’re still beautiful.” ~ Alice Walker

I feel we are similar to trees. Unique and weird and beautiful. Our skin color, like the varied bark of a tree is a map of contours and shapes. Our arms, the boughs. The leaves, our hair. The roots connect us to a galaxy above and below; we are the heart of veins and interconnected. We can be quiet or outspoken. We can fluctuate like the wind or lay prostrate into the decay of finding our whole. It is in our imperfections, vulnerabilities and expressions of heart – that deeply move me.

My contemplations and questions come from the perennial evergreens: how can I do better and give more? How can I forgive myself when I fail and learn from my mistakes? How can I see clearly? I have to watch and listen and feel. Nature teaches me we are similar to an ebb and flow of the sea. I am not linear and yet I can get caught in a sticky web of voices and demands and relentless distractions of shallow. This is when I really need to sink below the noise and listen to nature and her trees. It’s important to protect self fiercely with self-nurturing; to trust in the shakedown of confusion because inner truth will rise brighter regardless of the dark.

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Captured Moments and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

