I peeled the moon.

Ekaterina Koroleva spring

Artist: Ekaterina Koroleva

I peeled an apple
from the core of the moon
and licked the juice of its honey dew.
While ferns feathered a canopy,
I chased the sun,
in liquid form,
and ribbons of lava were born.

Oh morning moon,
where timeless is ordinary
and thoughts are clipped to line
for wind to dry.

I could no long tell
if clouds were waves
or sky was sea;
moon’s dawning light
had rushed
to my infinity.

So I spoke to you
and said soft things
like how a whisper
becomes a faded memory.
And you answered
and held this space parallel
to the flicker of morning’s grace.

© Carolyn (Riker) Avalani | Artist: Ekaterina Koroleva

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Captured Moments, Poem and Prose and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I peeled the moon.

  1. Leslie says:

    Absolutely beautiful, Carolyn. A lush journey of blues melting me into myself and into the sky you take me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

