Self-Comparison.

Some days it’s not so easy. I get caught in the crossfire of self-comparison. I can’t seem to find the endearing of my squirrely. I’m lost in the wind of oblivion. I don’t know why, but something deep inside shouts loudly “I don’t want to be me!! {{stomp! stomp! stomp!}} And I wish I were more of you or her or him or they or them!” (I know it’s ridiculous but that’s what I do.)

This is when I have to push aside and shutdown and really, really listen. It’s there in the silver-blue stream were I follow the slight bend of lavender’s footsteps. It’s there in the shift of twilight’s rhapsody where time is held gently. I step sideways and feel between the setting sun. I pause and become the horizon of a delicately stitched leaf. I let go the canary of my trapped thinking and set my knowing free. I truly become tears and one with the sea. My soul ripples with the edges and I return home to loving me.

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Captured Moments, Let My Voice Be Heard and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

