Dear Sisters & Brothers of Color.

Ruben Ireland

Artist: Ruben Ireland

Dear Sisters and Brothers of Color:

I’m sorry for not doing my part as a white person. I will do better. If it hurts me to breathe I can only slightly imagine what you’ve been going through. My sorrow isn’t pity it is the highest, highest respect. My newsfeed is full of bullet holes. The violence has permeated my membranes. The voices in my head have be screaming. I can’t guess what it must feel like to you.

I’m sorry. I will do better.

I will use my white privilege to speak and write more and let other white people know we can do so much better. The little 4-year just lost her daddy last night and the 15 year old who sobbed and sobbed – he’s got it right.

The pain fucking hurts.

No more. No more. I’m white. I’ve got to do more.

I’m sorry seems so bone marrow cold but it’s really coming from my heart.

I will do more.

With love & respect,

Carolyn

 

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Let My Voice Be Heard and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

