I Remember Well.

edward binkley

Illustration: Edward Binkley

I remember well…
the beginning
I spent countless hours
weaved with tiny hands
I wore layered beads
of endearments
my breath
birthed new ones with ease

sugared snapped sweetness
mocha munchkins
baby squirrel

sort of surprised they
weren’t confused
but love laced
my words

I remember well
the long feverish nights
crying skinned knees
kisses of stinky toes
band aides to ease
warm baths to soothe
sleepless in the ICU
swallowing my tears
holding them dear
while tiny socks
grew
and
grew

But now?
please stop
reminding me
what was and
what isn’t…

I know and see
you and them
the fun you send
across Wi-Fi’s high
of snapchating and
texting the
waves of
WhatsApping

I remember well
without
you.

 

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Captured Moments, Poem and Prose and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

