I am Bresha Meadows, are you?

Amazing and powerful article. It’s not an easy read because of its contents but it’s real. Please take a few minutes. Written by Taylar Nuevelle.

Taylar Speaks

bresha-meadows-photo-1Bresha Meadows killed her father in July of 2016, she was only 14 and she shot him with his own gun. The family of the man who was her father claims something is wrong with Bresha, and that her father had never harmed her or her family. I know he hurt her and her family, because I am Bresha. Growing up, I knew so many girls who are Bresha as well, we just did not value ourselves enough to take the necessary action to be free—we just went silent and our abusers went on to harm others. Bresha. Dear sweet Bresha. I believe you and telling would have never been enough, because our society does not value or believe children, especially little brown girls who whisper the truth when their fathers and/or mothers become their living nightmares.

My memory is my blessing and my curse. It is why I write…

View original post 1,642 more words

About Carolyn Riker

A creative explorer using the magic of imagination, surfing the sea of understanding and finding bridges to connect it all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am Bresha Meadows, are you?

  1. tnuevelle says:

    Thank you for sharing this Carolyn. I think it is shocking to people, but truth of pain often is almost too much to know. Besos. #whospeaksforme

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

